电磁超声问与答

什么是超声测试?###

超声波检测是利用高频声波检测缺陷,测量或定位固体材料性质的变化。由于它的能力和可靠性,超声是发展最快的无损检测技术之一。是进行全容积关键检查的选择方法,尤其是当被检查对象在空间上接触受限时。

如何使用压电换能器的生超声 ?###

超声波由于阻抗的不同不能容易地通过空气传播,所以传感器需要在换能器和被检测的固体之间使用液体。

EMAT电磁超声是如何产生的?

EMAT或电磁超声换能器由磁铁和线圈组成,并依赖于弹性波产生的电磁声相互作用(超声波)。利用洛仑兹力和磁致伸缩力,电磁超声探头EMAT与金属表面相互作用,生成测试材料内的声波。被检查的材料自身充当换能器,不需要对电磁超声换能器与材料进行耦合。更多信息见电磁超声技术。

电磁超声可以产生什么样的波和频率?

EMAT电磁超声可以容易地产生压电超声波型(包括瑞利波,爬波,垂直剪切、纵波)以及传统方法较难产生波形(水平剪切,蓝姆波)。另外,使用同一个探头,通过简单的频率调整,EMAT电磁超声产生的剪切波可以对待测工件实现从0到90º的全面扫描。在频率选择方面,Innerspec已经实现从50KHz到12MHz的频率可调范围。电磁超声检测的优点是什么?

因为声音产生于待测工件内部,EMAT电磁超声具有一些独特的优势:

  • 干耦合无需耦合剂
  • 不受表面影响
  • 探头设置简单尤其适合自动化系统
  • 它可以产生独特的波模式(即水平极化剪切能量和蓝姆波),压电换能器往往难以产生。更多信息见电磁超声技术。

什么是水平极化剪切能?

由于特定的粒子运动,水平极化剪切波是唯一适合奥氏体焊缝和枝晶组织(如不锈钢焊缝)检测的波形。此外,作为导波或板波,水平横波布满待检测工件整个内部空间,通过探头的单次扫查就能提供完整全厚度检查。

电磁超声的应用场合

EMAT电磁超声特别适合对速度和精度有严格要求,以及工件、工艺条件十分苛刻的工业现场使用。

什么材料可以使用电磁超声检测 ?###

电磁超声EMAT适用于任何导电材料。总的来说,EMAT电磁超声几乎适用于所有的金属,不同材料结果会有差异。

电磁超声发展趋势

电磁超声是一种相对较新的技术,还有许多未开发的潜在用户。电磁超声换能器也需要高功率和特定的电子设备,应用要求较高。随着其优点的逐渐体现,电磁超声的工业应用也会越来越广泛。

电磁超声检测的标准是什么?

无论常规超声还是电磁超声,波的传播和缺陷响应都有同样的标准。除此之外,ASTM 美国材料实验协会也有电磁超声检查标准。 请查阅 电磁超声技术.

电磁超声设备价格贵吗 ?

由于EMAT电磁超声需要更多的能量来产生超声波,因此电磁超声仪器一般比压电超声仪器更贵。然而,考虑到无需耦合剂及受工艺和材料的影响较小,特别是在集成检测系统中有成本优势。在一般情况下,集成的电磁超声EMAT系统通常相当于或低于压电超声系统价格。

能否用电磁超声进行快速检测?

生产速度下的实时检测是电磁超声最重要的特点。我们目前有焊缝检测系统在3米/秒的速度下运行,还有一些应用已经达到了26米/秒的检测速度。

电磁超声是否安全?

是的,无论是技术或是检测设备均对人体无害。

电磁超声能否用于相控阵?

是的,电磁超声换能器可用于相控阵。Innerspec成功开发了相控阵焊缝和批量检验的几个应用。

电磁超声系统很难使用吗?

我们设计的集成检测系统使用简便,操作员无需任何具体的超声波培训就能熟练操作。我们的便携式电磁超声仪器类似于传统的超声系统,只有一些特殊的功能有区别。

你们也销售电磁超声探头吗?

对,Innerspec出售超声探头,具有为特定应用定制解决方案的能力。然而,需要注意的是,大部分的电磁超声探头的应用需要配合不能广泛获取的大功率仪器。对于这些情况,我们还可以提供特定的仪表模块来满足个别要求。

我有一个不在你的产品清单上的申请,我怎么知道你是否能做到呢?

请带着你的应用详情与我们联系。如果确实很适合使用电磁超声的话,我们会立刻与您联系。我们也可能要求你寄送样品来进行可行性试验。除非是特定的设备(例如自定义探头开发),Innerspec技术将进行完全免费的初步测试。如果试验结果是肯定的,我们将提供一份完整的报价单。一旦我们对您报价,最终系统将获得与现有产品相同的100%性能保证。

你们是在全球销售吗?

尽管有一些限制。我们通过遍布全球的办公室和分销商网络销售大部分系统,请随时联系我们询问在贵国的业务。

你没有找到你要的答案吗?请联系我们,让我们知道您的需求。

需要答案?
联系我们

EMAT FAQs

What is Ultrasonic Testing (UT)?

Ultrasonic Testing is the use of high-frequency sound waves to detect imperfections, take measurements or to locate changes in material properties of solid objects. Because of its capabilities and reliability, UT is one of the fastest growing Non Destructive Testing techniques. It is the method of choice for critical applications where full volumetric inspection is required, especially when there is only limited access to the object being inspected.

How is ultrasound generated with a piezoelectric transducer?

The piezoelectric crystal creates a mechanical disturbance (ultrasonic wave) when subjected to voltage. This ultrasonic wave is from the transducer into the object to perform the inspection. Because ultrasonic waves do not transmit easily through air due to differences in impedance, the transducer needs to be to the solid being inspected using a liquid between the transducer and the solid being inspected.

How is ultrasound generated with an EMAT?

An EMAT or Electro Magnetic Acoustic Transducer consists of a magnet and a coil of wire and relies on electro-magnetic acoustic interaction for elastic wave generation (ultrasound). Using Lorentz forces and magnetostriction, the EMAT and the metal test surface interact and generate an acoustic wave within the material. The material being inspected is its own transducer and there is no need to couple the EMAT with the material. For more information see EMAT Technology.

What kind of waves and what frequencies can you generate with EMAT?

EMATs can easily generate any wave mode available with piezoelectric UT (Rayleigh, creeping, shear Vertical, longitudinal) plus others that are very difficult to generate with conventional methods (shear horizontal, Lamb). Also, EMATs can generate shear waves at any angle and sweep the material from 0º to 90º using the same transducer by simply modifying the frequency. In terms of frequencies available, Innerspec has deployed systems ranging from 50KHz to 12MHz.What are the advantages of EMAT?

Because the sound is generated in the part inspected, EMAT has several unique advantages:

  • It doesn’t require couplant (dry inspection).
  • It is not affected by surface conditions.
  • It permits easier deployment of probes (especially important for automated inspections).
  • It can generate unique wave modes (i.e. horizontally polarized shear energy and lamb waves) that are often difficult to reproduce with piezoelectric transducers. For more information see EMAT Technology.

What is horizontally polarized shear energy used for?

Because of the specific particle motion, horizontally polarized shear energy is the only practical means to ultrasonically inspect austenitic welds and materials with dendritic grain structures (e.g. stainless steel welds). Moreover, as a guided or plate wave, horizontal shear waves fill up the thickness of the material and provide complete, thru-thickness inspection in one pass of the transducer.

In summary, what is a good application for EMAT?

EMAT is especially well suited for real-world, industrial applications where speed and accuracy of inspection are paramount and the conditions of the material and process are not always ideal.

What materials can be inspected with EMAT?

EMAT works with any material that conducts electricity. Overall, EMAT works with almost all metals, however some metals are better suited to the technique than others.

Why aren’t EMATs used more frequently?

EMAT is a relatively new technique still unexplored by many potential users. EMAT transducers also require high power and specific electronic equipment that is not widely available. As industry discovers the advantages of EMAT its use will spread to an increasing number of applications.

Are there standards for EMAT inspection?

In terms of wave propagation and response to defects, the same standards that apply to conventional UT apply to EMAT. In addition to this, there are recognized ASTM standards on EMAT inspection. See EMAT Technology.

Is EMAT equipment expensive?

Because EMAT requires more power to generate the ultrasound, EMAT instruments are generally more expensive than piezoelectric UT instruments. However, by eliminating couplant delivery and disposal and being less affected by process and material conditions, they are significantly more cost effective in integrated inspection systems. In general, integrated EMAT systems are normally equivalent to or less expensive than piezoelectric UT systems.

Can you have fast inspection with EMAT?

Real-time inspection at production speeds is one of EMAT’s most interesting advantages. We currently have weld inspection systems operating at 3m/s, and some applications have reached inspection speeds of 26m/s.

Can you have fast inspection with EMAT?

Real-time inspection at production speeds is one of EMAT’s most interesting advantages. We currently have weld inspection systems operating at 3m/s, and some applications have reached inspection speeds of 26m/s.

Is EMAT safe?

Yes. There are no health risks associated with either the technology or the equipment.

Can EMAT transducers be used in phased array?

Yes, EMAT transducers can be used in phased array. Innerspec Technologies has developed several applications with phased array for inspection of welds and large volumes.

Are EMAT systems difficult to use?

We design our integrated to be used by line operators without any specific ultrasonic training. Our portable instrumentation is similar to conventional UT systems, with only some special features that are unique to EMAT.

Do you also sell EMAT sensors?

Yes. Innerspec Technologies sells sensors and has research capabilities to develop custom solutions for specific applications. However, it is important to note that most EMAT sensor designs require high-power instrumentation that is not widely available. For these cases, we can also provide specific instrumentation modules to meet individual requirements.

I have an application that is not on your list of products, how do I find out if you can do it?

Contact us with the details of the application. Once we receive this information, we will immediately let you know if it is a good application for EMAT. We might also ask you to send samples to perform a proof-of-principle or feasibility test. Unless specific equipment is required (e.g. custom sensors), Innerspec Technologies will perform this initial test completely free of charge. If the results of the test are positive, we will provide you with a complete quotation. Once we quote your application, the final system will have the same 100% performance guarantee as our existing products.

Do you sell equipment worldwide?

Most of our systems are available worldwide through our network of offices, and distributors although some restrictions apply. Contact us to inquire about availability in your country.

You did not find what you were looking for? Contact us and let us know your needs

Need Answers?
Contact us